top of page

About SkyTeam  


SkyTeam was formed on June 22, 2000 by four carriers namely Air France, Delta Air Lines, Mexico International Airlines and Korean Air. Since its formation, SkyTeam has offered its customers a total of 1,150 destinations in 175 countries and territories around the world, operating 14,500 flights a day. In addition, SkyTeam has 750 VIP lounges around the world, carrying 630 million passengers a year.  As of today, SkyTeam consists of 19 carriers from five continents, becoming and is by far the youngest and second-largest airline alliance.


How do I become a Skyteam Elite or Elite Plus member?

In order to recognize each carrier’s most frequent flyers, SkyTeam created tier levels to identify and deliver the appropriate benefits to the customers who have earned them. Each individual carrier’s Elite membership program equates to one of the two Elite tiers within SkyTeam.


Is my Elite status with my preferred frequent flyer program transferable to another SkyTeam carrier? 

Elite status earned in your preferred frequent flyer program is not transferable to another carrier’s frequent flyer program. However, once Elite status is earned in a member’s frequent flyer program, you then become a SkyTeam Elite frequent flyer which is recognized across all 20 SkyTeam carriers.


What benefits do I enjoy as a SkyTeam Elite Plus passenger?

  • Priority reservation wait list (when fares permit).

  • Preferred seating.

  • Priority check-in counters.

  • Priority boarding or at leisure. 

  • Extra baggage allowance


Guaranteed full-fare Y-class reservation on sold-out long-haul flights, at least 24 hours prior to departure.

Access to airport lounges worldwide, whatever the class of travel, for members in possession of a boarding pass, accompanied by a guest.

Priority baggage handling on arrival, whatever the class of travel

bottom of page